Spreckels Organ Society

Practical help for organ students

COVID has placed many an obstacle for people during the past year, but what if you’re a student of the organ with no place to go and practice? The Spreckels Organ Society has developed a “loaner” program for students of the organ that has solved the dilemma for one local family.

Click here to read about how the Loaner program has helped.

Online each Sunday

April 18 —

CLICK HERE FOR THE LINK and remember that the concert will remain posted for several days so that you can watch it when you have a few moments to spare.

Sunday April 11 online concert

San Diego Civic Organist Raul Prieto Ramirez will premiere an hour-long concert video featuring the Spreckels Organ at 2 p.m. on Sunday April 11. CLICK HERE FOR THE LINK. The concert will remain posted for later watching, too. Catch the premiere and you can participate in the live chat with Raul and others who enjoy this great musical treasure.


Musical program:

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990) West Side Story (medley) -arr. Raúl Prieto Ramírez N.1


Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) Toccata Adagio &​ Fugue in C Major BWV 564​

Joan Cabanilles (1644-1712) Tiento Primer Tono, en terzio a modo de Italia

Raúl Prieto Ramírez answers to questions made by the Audience

Félix Alexandre Guilmant (1837-1911) Finale, from Sonate N.2 in D Major Op.50

Star Spangled Banner

Sunday, April 4 – Concert at 2 p.m.

Enjoy an hour-long concert premiere with Raul Prieto Ramirez on live chat and the Spreckels Organ bringing forth the music as Raul plays. CLICK HERE FOR THE LINK.

Today’s Musical Program —

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Toccata & Fugue in D minor BWV 565
(Dubious authorship)

Leroy Anderson (1908-1975)
The Typewriter (arr. Raúl Prieto Ramírez)

Fred Stansfield
official March 1915 Exposition

Raúl Prieto Ramírez
Paraphrasis on EXPO for pedals alone

Louis-Nicolas Clerambault (1676-1749)
From Suite du premier ton
Basse et dessus de trompette ou de cornet séparé en dialogue
Récits de cromorne et de cornet séparé en dialogue
Dialogue sur les Grands Jeux

Fryderyk Franciszek Chopin (1810-1849)
Prelude Op.28 N.15 (trans. Raúl Prieto Ramírez)

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
West Side Story (medley)
-arr. Raúl Prieto Ramírez

Star Spangled Banner

No “Live” Sunrise Service this Easter at Organ Pavilion

There will be an Online Sunrise Service in lieu of a live gathering at Mount Helix ; Christ Lutheran is arranging the service. Also, First Presbyterian Church of San Diego will be holding a live Sunrise Service at the County of San Diego’s Waterfront Park on Harbor Drive.

March 31 – a City of San Diego Holiday

March 31 marks the birthday of  César Chávez in 1927. A farmworker from the age of 10, he joined with Dolores Huerta to establish the group that would become the United Farmworkers of America. Following the principles of non-violence, they succeeded as the first recognized union for the nation’s farmworkers — a struggle for recognition that included confrontation with anti-Chicano prejudice. Where better to visit on March 31 than the Port of San Diego’s Cesar Chavez Park? Here’s a link to find this harborside patch of green.