Spreckels Organ Society

Concert of Sunday, March 28 – Online premiere at 2 p.m.

All concerts of the Spreckels Organ are exclusively online – not as live events at the Organ Pavilion. This is a continuation of online-only programming that began in March of 2020 to protect public health. The San Diego Park & Recreation Department oversees the Pavilion venue. No activity or gathering there is permitted. For music, the one-hour concerts posted weekly are how we keep the music flowing. This week, March 28 at 2 p.m. join the Live Chat and premiere — or view the program later if convenient. CLICK HERE FOR THE LINK.


Program selections

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
Improvisation Op.150 N.7

Fred Stansfield
EXPO, official March 1915 Exposition

Raúl Prieto Ramírez
Paraphrasis on EXPO for pedals alone

Discovering the Spreckels Organ with Dale Sorenson

Max Reger (1873-1916)
Scherzo in D minor Op.65

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Fantasia in G Major BWV 571-1

Fryderyk Franciszek Chopin (1810-1849)
Prelude Op.28 N.15 (trns. Raúl Prieto Ramírez)

Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583-1643)
Toccata I, from “Second Book of Toccatas…”

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Symphonic Poem “Prometheus” S.99
-transcribed for organ by Jean Guillou

Star Spangled Banner

Happy Birthday, SOS!

Signed by March Fong Eu, California Secretary of State, 3-23-1988

The Spreckels Organ Society is celebrating its birthday today! 33 years of supporting, promoting, and preserving the Spreckels Organ as a world treasure.

Edward Barr, “present at the founding..”

Here’s an editor’s shout-out to Ed Barr, who is one of our surviving founders who always would mention the Spreckels Organ Society’s birthday in late March. Ed served for many years as the Society’s historian, StopTab contributor, and major cheerleader. Ed, we know you’re missing the live concerts — and we miss seeing you and absorbing your enthusiastic commentary about “all things organ.”

Happy Birthday, Bach!

Sunday, March 21, the world celebrates the 336th anniversary of the birth of Bach. In honor of the occasion, Civic Organist Raúl Prieto Ramírez has prepared an all-Bach concert that will premiere Sunday at 2 p.m. online — CLICK HERE FOR THE LINK –

Musical selections:

Sinfonia, from Cantata N.29 BWV 29
-transcribed by Marcel Dupré

Air from Orchestral Suite N.3 BWV 1068
-transcribed by Raúl Prieto Ramírez

Piece for Pedals alone in g minor BWV 598
(notated by Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach)

Toccata & Fugue in D minor BWV 565
(Dubious authorship)

Pastoral in F Major BWV 590

Prelude and Fugue in D Major BWV 532

Star Spangled Banner

Our COVID year

Who imagined it would be so long?

“Beware the Ides of March…”

Shakespeare’s invocation heralding the fate of Julius Caesar echoes down the centuries. In 2020, the last outdoor concert at the Pavilion took place on March 15, with volunteer photographer Bob Lang onhand to capture Raúl’s final live performance of the year, along with the first effort in San Diego County to implement Social Distancing. CLICK HERE for photos. The next week, March 22, Raúl’s concert was online, and since then, with live concerts not possible, he and the Society’s production team have offered the world a new video each week — their hard work justified by your unprecedented support and enthusiasm.

Read more about the Spreckels Organ Society’s 2020 experience AT THIS LINK.

Online Concert March 14

It’s the weekend to set your clock forward an hour at 2 a.m. Sunday … so you will catch the video premiere of this week’s concert as always, at 2 p.m. Sunday, Pacific DAYLIGHT Time! CLICK HERE FOR THE LINK to this week’s concert.

Musical program:

Léon Boellmann (1862-1897)
Suite Gothique oP.25
II-Menuet gothique
III-Prière à Nôtre-Dame

Eugene Gigout (1886-1971)
Toccata in B minor

Antonio Soler (1729-1783)
Sonatan de Clarines

Edward MacDowell (1860-1908)
To a Wild Rose (10 woodland sketches)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Fugue in g minor BWV 542-2

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Scherzo for mechanical organ WoO.33 N.2

Pyotr Ilyic Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Valse Sentimentale Op-51 N.26
-trans. Raúl Prieto Ramírez

Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
Symphonic Poem “Prometheus” S.99
-transcribed for organ by Jean Guillou

-Star Spangled Banner

Online Anniversary

It’s been one full year that Spreckels Organ Concerts have gone online due to COVID-19. Read the Society’s”Coping with COVID” story on THIS PAGE.